DAK is primarily a modelers group dedicated to building scale AFVs with a flair for the unique and a desire to innovate.  Dave Jones has chosen a triple challenge shoehorning a working battle system into a really small, semi tracked package.  “we need more light (class) vehicles!”  He has scavenged parts from many sources!


Cutting a Hanomag down to size

  The vehicle used both tracks and wheels to steer. The steering system employed only the wheel for shallow turns,  but brakes would be applied to the tracks the farther the driver turned the steering wheel. The drive sprocket had rollers rather than teeth. The rear suspension consisted of four double road wheels mounted on swing arms that were sprung by torsion bars. A rear idler wheel controlled track tension. The front wheels had transversely mounted leaf springs and shock absorbers, the only ones on the vehicle, to dampen impacts.  The Sd.Kfz. 250 was unique among German half-track designs as it and its parent Sd.Kfz. 10 used a hull rather than a frame.

  The Germans used the vehicle for many roles. The basic variant mounted one or two MG34 machine guns. Later variants carried 20mm, 37mm, and even 75mm guns.  The 250/3 and 250/5 were command variants, both equipped with fewer seats and with long-range radio equipment. The most famous was the 250/3 “Greif” used by Field Marshal Erwin Rommel. Early versions had large 'bed-frame' antennas that were easy to spot at long range, making them more vulnerable to artillery fire. In later variants the Germans dispensed with this antenna and used a whip antenna instead.

  The 250/9 variant depicted in this RC Project was a reconnaissance variant with a 20mm KwK 38 auto cannon and a coaxial MG34 or MG42 in a low, open topped turret that was identical to the Sd.Kfz.222 armored car and the sdkfz-234/1 armored car. The 250/9 weighed 6.02 tons and carried a crew of three. The vehicle carried about 100 rounds of 20mm ammunition for the KwK38 main gun. The German Army ordered 30 of these 250 variants in March 1942.  In the same year three prototypes were sent to Russia to see if the vehicle’s cross-country performance was better then that of the wheeled armored cars then in use.  After these trials, the Germans discontinued production of the Sd.Kfz.222 and replaced it with the Sd.Kfz.250/9.

  The Sd.Kfz. 250 was a light armored halftrack, similar in appearance to the larger Sd.Kfz.251, designed by Hanomag and built by DEMAG.  Versus U.S. halftracks, the 250 series was less mobile, with unpowered front wheels. Its tracks made it far more mobile than the armored cars it replaced, and it was a popular vehicle. Most were open-topped and had a single door in the rear. The Sd.Kfz.250 was adopted in 1939 to but production delays meant they did not appear until mid-1941, after the Polish and French campaigns.

  A Maybach 6-cylinder, water-cooled, 4.17-liter (254 cu in) HL 42 TRKM gasoline engine developing 100 HP powered the 250. The vehicle had a semi-automatic Maybach VG 102 128 H transmission with 7 forward and 3 reverse gears, with a top speed of 76 km/h (47 mph), but the driver was cautioned not to exceed 65 km/h (40 mph).